can I publish content to another site?

Topics: General
May 30, 2011 at 10:17 PM

Hi,

I am quite new to this cms. After I finish a site, can I publish all contents to another IIS site?

The reason is that I want users to see things much faster (no need to load all the rendering engines etc). Also I don't want users to have any chance to edit the content, so if I can publish the contents to another site and lock the site we use for editing to be an internal site, we can be very safe.

Many Thanks

Jerry

Coordinator
May 31, 2011 at 12:53 AM
Edited May 31, 2011 at 12:55 AM

You basically need to sync the files on your IIS with the freshly updated website files. This is pretty much just an XCOPY that replace the 'old' files on IIS. Consider doing this synchronization using a tool like robocopy (much faster).

Borrowing from a thread on http://www.yougamers.com/forum/showthread.php?t=117101 I came across reverse use of robocopy which I guess you could easily reverse. Please note the the /MIR switch will truly mirror source to destination, including deleting anything not in the source, so have perfect backups when testing this code.

Robocopy <FTP Server location> <Local server location> /COPY:DAT /ZB /W:10 /R:10 /MIR /V /LOG+<Location you want the log file>

Basically, the above function will copy the enter FTP site to your local PC. Here are each of the parameters:

/COPY:DAT - Copies the file contains, attributes and Timestamps
    /ZB - Allows file transfers to be restarted (if there is an error downloaded)
    /W:10 Wait ten seconds between attempts
    /R:10 Retry ten times, if failure
    /MIR Mirror the directories. Copy all folders and sub-folders (NOTE: if a file/folder is deleted on the FTP server, it will be deleted here as well).
    /V Verbose output
    /LOG+ Append to the log file