The differents between (MC)V and Composite?

Topics: General, MVC
Aug 5, 2011 at 12:53 PM

Hello,

At this moment i'm looking how to implemented MVC/Razor in combination with Composite. The MvcPlayer implemented I succesfully without problems. But the design is in VS then.

I'm asking repeatly by my self, what are the roles for an application by using Composite and MVC application. What I mean is: Composite is a "View" (with editor functions) and Razor (with the Visual Studio .cshtml files) is also the View of the application. 

What are the different between these? I think, I don't have to use the .cshtml files but I like razor (also my designers). And if I let the design/view in composite, how can I use the Controllers  files then? Or isn't possible?

I'm a newbie about Composite so it isn't clearly enough for me about this.

thanks. 

Aug 5, 2011 at 1:54 PM
Edited Aug 5, 2011 at 1:57 PM

First af all... MVC is not Razor, like Razor is not MVC... Razor is just a syntax and can be used in all kinds of different contexts, also in non-MVC with what Microsoft calls WebPages. So you need to be more specific if its razor you want, or mvc. Clearly, razor is a sideeffect of choosing MVC until C1 gets first-class-citizen support for it. Which is not that big of a deal really... see this discussion about razor support in C1 http://compositec1.codeplex.com/discussions/243413.

If its pure MVC, witch controller and views and actions for each and every page in the system, then you're a bit out of luck. There is this discussion about MVC a rendering engine in C1, but more planning is needed of how to map page types/templates into controller and how views and models should work http://compositec1.codeplex.com/discussions/248553.