Possible to change SQL function <root> tag and XSLT <in:inputs> tag?

Topics: Community, General, XSLT
May 22, 2012 at 5:22 PM

Hello,

My company would like to move our CMS to Composite c1. I'm new to web development, so my apologizes if these questions are over the top.

1. Is it possible to change the <root> tag name that the SQL function uses? We would like to keep the XSLT files we're importing the same.

2. We'd also like to remove the <in:inputs>,<in:result>, and <root> tags in XSLT Functions.

3. What's the easiest way to import XSLT files into Composite? I've started by:

- creating a new xslt function

- replace the newly created function with the old, and rename the file extension name to .xsl.

This seems like a bad way to import XSLT files to Composite. I'm sure there's a more efficient way.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Please let me know if any other information is needed. And I apologize again if my questions leave you scratching your heads.

May 23, 2012 at 2:58 AM
Edited May 23, 2012 at 2:58 AM

Your question is very descriptive and relevant, no need to apologize. 

On the top of my head I'd say that if you have legacy xslt that require the input xml document to be formatted in a very specific way, the only feasible routes are one of the following

• change the legacy xslt - locate and expand on any XPaths which start with / by prefixing with /in:inputs/in:result/root - like this

<!-- was -->
    <xsl:template match="/mydata">
    <!-- become  -->
    <xsl:template match="/in:inpute/in:result/root/mydata">

<!-- was -->
    <xsl:template match="/">
    <!-- become -->
    <xsl:template match="/in:inpute/in:result/root/*">

<!-- was -->
    <xsl:template match="/mydata/elm[@class='high']">
    <!-- become  -->
    <xsl:template match="/in:inpute/in:result/root/mydata/elm[@class='high']">

<!-- etc. -->