Multiple instances of same Usercontrol

Topics: General, Troubleshooting
Nov 17, 2010 at 12:29 PM

Hi,

I am new to Composite C1 and I am just so exited about it. So please excuse me if my question is basic.

I have added multiple instances of one UserControl using LoadUserControl on a page and when I open the page it shows an "error in function" and when I click on it it says "an item with same key has already been added".

I guess it's because duplication of control IDs in different copies of same control. But in general ASP.NET generates a prefix to make these IDs unique.

Is there any way to solve this issue in Composite C1?

Nov 17, 2010 at 1:46 PM

I checked the ID of controls and they are different.
Sometimes I don't see the error message but if I refresh the page for couple of times then I see it again but in neither of the cases postback will not work probably.  

Has anybody else experienced the same issue?

Nov 17, 2010 at 2:31 PM

Hi Aboo,

I am trying to reproduce the issue you have reported about. No success so far.

I tried very simple user controls: 1) outputting some dummy text 2) featuring the standard Calendar control.

Inserted as many as 5 same controls via 5 instances of LoadUserControls. (In the second case, I wrapped the functions with <asp:form/> tags (http://docs.composite.net/C1/ASP-NET/Form.aspx) so that it would work). Worked just fine.

Might need more information from you:

1. What version of C1 are you running? Is it the latest Composite C1 2.0 SP1 (2.0.3947.24461)?
  2. Windows? A web browser?
  3. Is there anything particular about your User Control which cannot be covered in the dummy controls I used for the test?

Thanks

Nov 17, 2010 at 11:04 PM

Well, my User Control is very simple too. It consists of one label, a textbox and a button.

You can download the package from this URL: http://dl.dropbox.com/u/228139/CompositeC1/Abo.FirstUserControl.zip