Retrive Page Type metadata field value in function for specific page?

Topics: General, XSLT
Mar 10, 2011 at 5:58 PM

Hi!

Im kind of new to Composite C1..but Im starting to get the whole concept...but Im still a little rusty when it comes to the functions..especially when it comes to retriveing data(datatypes)

I have created a new Page metatype with the following setup:

Title: MyMetaData

Type name: MyMetaData

Type namespace: Custom

and then added a field called "Field" which takes a string..

I then have created a new Page Type called "MyCustomPageType" and then set the default layout to the "DefaultPage" layout..

I now add a metadata field to this newly created Page Type...

Metadata type: MyMetaData

Programmatic name: MetaData

Label: MetaData

Now here comes the "problem"...I whould like to be able to add a function in the "DefaultPage" layout that fetches the value of the current page metadata field that we just created..so for instance..

get it? :)

So for instance...as today the Composite C1 CMS has no built in field for the meta-keywords that some search engines uses...then it whould be great to let the user simply enter a value in the metedata field in the Metadata-tab ...and then use a function in the template to render the <meta name="keywords" content=""> tag and fill the content with keywords...

Another usefull thing whould be for customization of layouts..for instance you might want to change the color of the background of some pages by leting the user enter a HEX number or something in a field called "Background" in the metadata-tab of the page...well I guess you get my point by now..

So...how do I fetch the value of that metadata field?..

Thanks in advance!

Mar 10, 2011 at 10:26 PM

I, too, am trying to find some documentation on how to do this.

Coordinator
Mar 10, 2011 at 10:56 PM
Edited Mar 10, 2011 at 10:56 PM

In XSLT function